Synology rsync synchronisatie terminal

Synology rsync synchronisatie terminal

Synology rsync synchronisation terminal explains the steps to synchronise two shared folders via the rsync protocol. The rsync commando's are executed in a terminal session that's why SSH must be enabled on the Synology NAS. Be careful running the terminal commands because files and folders can be deleted, running the commands is at your own risk. 

 

Synology rsync synchronisation terminal

Synology rsync synchronisation terminal access

You have to make sure that SSH is enabled on the Synology NAS. This can be done from the control panel under Terminal & SNMP. For Windows you can use PuTTY to connect via SSH.

Terminal command:

ssh <admin user>@server

sudo -i

Turn on rsync on the Synology NAS-servers

To turn on rsync on the Synology NAS open control panel, file services, enable rsync service. Both Synology NAS-servers should have the rsync service running otherwise the Synology rsync synchronisation terminal commands don't run.

Identify both folders for Synology rsync synchronisation

Choose which folder on the source Synology NAS you want to synchronise to the other Synology NAS server which will be the destination. When the folder on the destination doesn't exits it will be created but not seen in the control panel as a shared folder. You can make it a shared folder afterwards and the synchronised data will not be overwritten. It is also possible to create first the shared folder on the destination NAS before the synchronisation. The advantage here is that the folder is created with the correct settings like permissions.

Hyper Backup and the difference with Synology rsync synchronisation terminal commands

With Hyper Backup you can create a rsync copy (single-version). The disadvantage from this way is that a subfolders are created under the destination shared folder and not directly inside the shared destination folder. The rsync job will create a backup folder and is not suitable for this purpose.

Shared Folder Sync and the difference with Synology rsync synchronisation terminal commands

When you have already on the destination, shared folders with identical names as the source shared folders, the folders at destination will be renamed! When the folders don't exists on the destination the will be created. When you already have a shared folder on the destination and the data is quit large, deleting the folder will take more time than to synchronise only the differences. After the creating of the shared folder at the destination you cannot access the files without changing the permissions. Also changing the files/folders at the destination after changing the permissions will not result in synchronising the source folders to the destination, running a full synchronisation does the job.

Synology rsync synchronisation terminal commands

Let me start by saying to be careful how you proceed with the following commands because they will overwrite and delete files and folder!  So test first and check if the command is doing as expected.

Run the following Synology rsync synchronisation terminal commands at your own risk and first test before usage!!!!

Name Source Synology NAS server: server01

Name Destination Synology NAS server: server02

Shared folder on server01: test test

Shared folder on server02: test test

start terminal session on server02:

Terminal command:

ssh <admin user>@server02

sudo -i

command is run from server02:

Assumed volume1

Purpose: make source shared folder the same on the destination NAS.

Delete files/folders within the destination shared folder to make sure that the destination shared folder is the same as the source shared folder.

Running the Synology rsync synchronisation terminal command

Run the following Synology rsync synchronisation terminal commands at your own risk and first test before usage!!!!

rsync -avhz --delete <admin user>@server02:"'/volume1/test test/'" "/volume1/test test/"

-a, --archive               archive mode; equals -rlptgoD (no -H,-A,-X)

-v, --verbose               increase verbosity

-h human readable

-z, --compress              compress file data during the transfer

-r, --recursive             recurse into directories

-l, --links                 copy symlinks as symlinks

-p, --perms                 preserve permissions

-t, --times                 preserve modification times

-o, --owner                 preserve owner (super-user only)

-g, --group                 preserve group

     --devices               preserve device files (super-user only)

     --specials              preserve special files

-D                          same as --devices --specials